Norwegian Financial Mechanism Financial Mechanism of the European Economic Area

General information

The Norwegian Financial Mechanism and the European Economic Area Financial Mechanism (i.e. the so-called EEA and Norway Grants) are a form of non-repayable foreign aid granted by Norway, Island and Liechtenstein to new EU Member States. These funds are related to Poland's accession to the European Union and to the entry of our country to the European Economic Area (EU + Island, Liechtenstein and Norway). In return for financial support, donor countries benefit from access to the European Union internal market (without being EU members). Currently, the second edition of the EEA and Norway Grants is being implemented (2009 - 2014). The previous edition covered the period of 2004-2009.


The main objectives of the EEA and Norway Grants are to contribute to a reduction of economic and social differences within the European Economic Area and reinforcing bilateral relations between donor states and the beneficiary states.

Beneficiary states

In total, 16 states are recipients of the EEA and Norway Funds Grants, i.e. 12 states that joined the common market in 2004 and 2007, as well as Spain, Portugal, Greece and Croatia.


The total amount of the second edition of the EEA and Norway Grants is EUR 1.798 billion. The allocation for Poland is EUR 578.1 million, including costs of grant management, incurred by the donor side and the Polish side. More information about the allocation for Poland can be found under the ALLOCATION tab.

Support recipients

Generally, private, commercial or non-commercial entities, or non-governmental organization established as legal entities in Poland, as well as intergovernmental organizations operating in Poland can apply for support. For each programme, a catalogue of entities eligible to apply for funds will be established. More information is provided under the SUPPORT AREAS tab.

Programmes (support areas)

Several programmes (support areas) have been identified within the framework of the EEA and Norway Grants. A grant under a given programme can be obtained for projects concerning similar subject matter. The programmes include many areas from the first edition of the EEA and Norway Grants. These are, first of all: environmental protection (including renewable energy), cultural heritage, health, research and scholarships. There have been programmes identified concerning the Schengen area and interior affairs, including the prison system and violence prevention. Just as in the first edition, great emphasis has been put on strengthening civil society. Completely new topics have also emerged, such as decent work and tripartite dialogue, as well as cooperation between local governments as regards regional development.

The responsibility concerning implementation of each programme is taken by institutions/organizations specializing in a specific field, e.g. in the case of health – the Ministry of Health. These institutions fulfil the function of so-called Programme Operators. In the case of some programmes, Operators cooperate with entities of the donor states.

More information on the Norwegian Financial Mechanism and the European Economic Area Financial Mechanism can be found at